Nick Jackson

Nick Jackson, singer, songwriter, guitarist: Nick has been performing in bands since he learnt to play the guitar at the age of 11. He formed Mirrors Over Kiev with his brother and drummer Ben Jackson, guitarist Phil Abram and bass player Keith Rigby. In the late 80s, the Mirrors released two singles culminating in an album Northern Songs on Run River Records in 1990 and American Now on the band’s own label, Meadowland Records in 1995. The band went their separate ways, while Nick took time out to re-evaluate his musical career, embarking on a string of informal open mic and obscure folk club performances.

In the late 1990s he teamed up with bass player John Wilkinson and Ben to form The Nick Jackson Band, due to the popularity of the original material he was playing in venues around Manchester and his home town Bolton. Four albums later, the band is still going strong.

Ben Jackson – drummer

As the younger brother of Nick Jackson, Ben has played in every band his older sibling has been part of. As well as his distinctive drumming style, Ben is also a key asset on backing vocals, particularly at live shows. Ben was part of Mirrors Over Kiev in the late 1980s and early 90s, performing drums on their albums Northern Songs and American Now before eventually teaming up with Michael Weston King in the Good Sons for three albums – Singing the Glory Down, Wines Lines and Valentines and Happiness. He was reunited with his brother for the second album, Secrets, by The Nick Jackson Band and has been ever present since.

Ricky Lucas – guitarist

Ricky has proved to be a key man for The Nick Jackson Band on guitar recently. Ricky played in East Lancashire combo The Witnesses before becoming one of the founder members of blues band The Mighty Revelators, with whom he still plays. They have two albums, Hits and Misfits and the 2014 release Eyes on the Road. Ricky has also toured with Ireland’s Eurovision star Johnny Logan and features in a Mark Knopfler masterclass which can be viewed on Youtube.

John Wilkinson – bass player

John Wilkinson was a founding member of The Nick Jackson Band and was a key man in the rehabilitation of Nick following the demise of Mirrors Over Kiev.
He has played bass on all four of the band’s albums, Miracles, Secrets, Beautiful Place and the 2014 release Ballads, Social Music and Songs.

Bill Boyd – keyboards

Glasgow-born Bill is the latest addition to The Nick Jackson Band. His link up with the band was something of a happy accident. The classically trained ivory tinklier was hosting a New Year’s Eve party attended by the father of his step son’s school friend Amy, Ben Jackson.
When it was revealed Ben played in a band, Bill asked if he could join the ranks and, after meeting Nick, he was welcomed in. Bill – who names the late Jon Lord as a major influence -is credited by Nick as giving the band a new dimension and impetus since his introduction.

Phil Abram – guitarist, multi-instrumentalist and producer

Philip was part late 1980s and early 1990s cult Manchester band Mirrors Over Kiev and co-wrote the songs on the band’s first album Northern Songs and played guitar on the follow-up American Now. He joined Michael Weston King’s band the Good Sons for three album projects – Singing the Glory Down, Wines, Lines and Valentines and Happiness. Phil is located in Rome, Italy, but now works with The Nick Jackson Band as a producer and multi-instrumentalist and plays live when he is available. He was the producer for Ballads, Social Music and Songs.

Sale! Ballads, Social Music & Songs – CD
Ballads, Social Music & Songs – CD
The latest 2014 album from Nick and his cohorts. This time it's a team effort between guitarist and producer Phil Abram, drummer Ben Jackson, John Wilkinson on bass, but with additional contributions from guitarist Ricky Lucas, and keyboard player Bill Boyd, not to mention some long-distance bass playing from Rome based Englishman Jon Wood, also on bass. The album has also spawned the single Sea of Love, as The Nick Jackson Band boldly set out to capture some radio airplay.
not rated £7.99 Add to cart
Sale! Beautiful Place – CD
Beautiful Place – CD
Album number three from the now settled line up of The Nick Jackson Band in 2010. This release proved popular on the live circuit, particularly at the Big Mama club in Rome where the band have been performing regularly for the last 10 years. Stand out tracks include Machine Heart, Julie's Shot in the Dark, Difficult Children, Waiting on the Shore and the unforgettable Sound of the Skylark.
not rated £7.99 Add to cart
Sale! Miracles – CD
Miracles – CD
The first album from The Nick Jackson Band released in 2000. This cathartic work includes 14 tracks and features stupendous studio performances from drummer Norman Cooke and Nick Bold on guitar and backing vocals. Nick Jackson's own mandolin playing also figures prominently on this release.
not rated £7.99 Add to cart
Sea of Love – CD Single
Sea of Love – CD Single
Sea of Love is a track taken from The Nick Jackson Band's latest album, Ballads, Social Music and Songs and is the first single output by the band.
not rated £2.00 Add to cart
Sale! Secrets – CD
Secrets – CD
The second release from The Nick Jackson Band, notable for the return of Ben Jackson on drums and Phil Abram on guitar for a 12-track effort in 2005. Nick Bold returns for a brief cameo playing Rhodes piano on the track Respond. Album also spawned the Youtube video for the track Slowly Falling which can be viewed on this site.
not rated £7.99 Add to cart


Albums also available to download from i-Tunes and cdbaby.